TRUSTEE CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL

MEETING MINUTES April 2 – 4, 2008 Wednesday, Room 300 South, State Office Building, at 8:00 a.m. Thursday, Room 300 South, State Office Building, at 8:15 a.m. Friday, Room 300 South, State Office Building, at 8:00 a.m.

Present:

Kent Eklund, Chair Joe Aitken Nancy Black Yvonne Condell Carl Crimmins (April 2 & 4) John Dorn Dean Doyscher Kathleen Enz Finken Zainab Hassan (April 4) **Del Jenkins** Kelley Koemptgen (April 4) Liz Kuoppala David Larkin John Poupart (April 2) Earl Rasmussen Don Sudor **Billie Young**

Absent: George Cassell Carl Crimmins (April 3) Brenda Elmer Zainab Hassan (April 2 & 3) Buck Humphrey Kelley Koemptgen (April 2 & 3) Lisa Peilen John Poupart (April 3 & 4) Ruth Orrick Chris Wachtler Bruce Watkins

Wednesday, April 2nd – Business Meeting at 8:00 a.m.

The Trustee Candidate Advisory (TCAC) was called to order by Kent Eklund, TCAC Chair, at 8:00 a.m. in Room 300 South of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Reference Check Reports

The public meeting was closed and members met in executive session for the purpose of reviewing candidate reference checks. Mr. Eklund concluded executive session and reopened the meeting to the public.

Review interview format and voting procedures

Mr. Eklund reviewed the agenda and the interview process. Members would greet and introduce the interviewees for which they were assigned to do reference checks. The candidate would be allowed three to five minutes for an opening statement, the council would then ask questions, and end with the candidate's two-minute closing statement. Mr. Eklund pointed out to members that their packets included a list of possible questions to ask interviewees. Interviews started at 8:30 a.m.

Monday, April 3rd

Jon Eckhoff Margaret Gruenes Patricia Johnson Joe Vene Deborah Montgomery Joe Bouvette Louise Sundin David Paskach Upon conclusion of the interviews, the meeting adjourned for the day at 5:20 pm.

Tuesday, April 4th – Business Meeting at 8:15 a.m.

Mr. Eklund reviewed the interview schedule for the day.

Reference Check Reports

The public meeting was closed and members met in executive session for the purpose of reviewing candidate reference checks. Mr. Eklund concluded executive session and reopened the meeting to the public for the candidate interviews at 8:30 am.

Thursday, April 3rd

John Zanmiller Clarence Hightower Fran Bradley Patricia Krueger Jerry Williams Ray Thron Dennis Miller Charlie Kyte

Interviews concluded at 5:15 p.m. Mr. Eklund reviewed the agenda for Friday, noting the Council will work through lunch to review voting procedures. The meeting adjourned for the day at 5:20 p.m.

Friday, April 4th – Business Meeting at 8:00 a.m.

Mr. Eklund called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. He reviewed the interview schedule for the day and indicated that voting would commence following the interviews.

Reference Check Reports

The public meeting was closed and members met in executive session for the purpose of reviewing candidate reference checks. Mr. Eklund asked members to think about whether the reference checks were valuable to the process. Mr. Eklund concluded executive session and reopened the meeting to the public.

Review Voting Procedures

Mr. Eklund reminded members that they must have heard an interview to vote for a candidate on the first ballot. Due to problems with attendance at the interviews this cycle, Mr. Eklund noted the Council may need to look into changing the voting procedures at a future meeting.

Interviews started at 8:30 a.m.

Friday, April 4th

Bob Brown Bernice Belgarde Charles MacLean Cheryl Dickson Dean Anderson

Interviews concluded at 1:45 p.m. Members took a short break before voting.

Approval of Minutes

Don Sudor moved approval of the minutes from the March 7, 2008 meeting. MOTION PREVAILED.

Discussion and Voting

Mr. Eklund reviewed the voting procedures.

The following names would be recommended to Governor Pawlenty:

At-Large Bernice Belgarde Jon Eckhoff Clarence Hightower Patricia Krueger Charlie Kyte Charles MacLean Dennis Miller Jerry Williams <u>4th Congressional District</u> Robert Brown (4th) Cheryl Dickson (4th) Deborah Montgomery (4th) <u>7th Congressional District</u> Dean Anderson (7th) David Paskach (7th)

Members were asked to contact the interviewees to inform them of the council's recommendations.

Mr. Eklund notified members a meeting may be scheduled to review the process and procedures. Staff will send out an e-mail to poll members on the possible meeting.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 3:06 p.m.

Kent Eklund, Chair